6 Month Handstand Progress: What It Really Takes & 3 Biggest Lessons

jesiah

Some weeks ago it was shared here my 6 month handstand progress video and due to the good response I decided to create this post. Here’s the video:

On the journey from a 1s to 25s hold I learned some key insights you can use to progress faster or just improve your understanding about handstands. As a disclaimer, I’m not a certified coach but I’ve some solid background on biomechanics.

What It Really Takes To Learn The Handstand:​

1. The 5 Minute Skill Work Myth: as an average guy it was not possible for me to just learn the handstand by just playing with handstands for 5 minutes before my strength work. As I’ll explain later I started to really progress when I had a complete 30+ minute handstand sessions covering all the different aspects (bodyline, balance, kick up).
  2. Strong Wrists Come First: my loose wrist tendons made me stop training the handstand several times before. That’s why taking wrist condition more seriously and also using parallettes saved the day for me. Most of you won’t need to use parallettes but still conditioning your wrists is a huge part of long term success.
  3. Strong Shoulders Come Second: most of the shoulder workouts tend to be “bent arm” which is great for building those muscles. However, for handstands that won’t be enough. The shoulders are much more unstable than the hips and yet when doing handstand we pretend our shoulders to function as hips. To be honest your shoulders will automatically start adapting by spending quality time on handstands (here the importance of >30s chest to wall handstands). But you can accelerate the process by adding weighted exercises like “Bilateral Shoulder Circles”.

The 3 Biggest Lessons:​