A stranger corrected my form at the gym

veroch

He was clearly a pro (seriously.. had the bod of Hercules) and we didn't speak the same language, but he came over and showed me the proper way to move my arms during a lift. I super appreciated the help and he was very excited that I was receptive and started using the proper form - and I could definitely feel the difference in my muscles. I am giddy that I finally experienced the stereotype that "gym bros" are super helpful!! I'm also very thankful he didn't judge me for only lifting 10 lb dumbbells. Even us twigs gotta start somewhere.

@veroch I recall reading somewhere that most pro body builders do not look down upon beginners or fat people, they were there once and know that everyone is trying to make themselves better. It is only the dumb asses that look down at you for lifting a 10lb dumbbell.

@jewsusmckwanzaadon I’m no pro but have made considerable progress.

I see this one girl in my small apartment gym everyday. She’s a big girl but she’s in there absolutely killing it.

I’m a shy person so I never say anything like “good shit, keep killing it.” I may tho.

@hypnus9 I’ve seen posts about people being upset when someone tells them “good job” or something during a work out. Personally as a fat person that just started going to the gym again, I love compliments. I was pushing my kid in his stroller up a hill last month and someone said “you’re a rockstar” to me and I swear it fueled the rest of my walk. But some people don’t like it.

@hypnus9 Just to add onto this, I've had quite alot of people (over the course of 10 years) compliment me/comment on my technique/weight used/clothes at the gym, and I hate it, I never know what to say and it makes me feel flustered and like people are watching me.

I know not everyone is the same, but I have a resting 'fuck off don't talk to me face'.