An Ode to the Bro Split

booboo222

I’ve been training with free weights at home for about 8 months. I started out with an upper / lower / PPL split 5 days a week that worked great for ~6 months of newbie gains and then plateaued. I’m 42, tend to go all out to failure most sets, and because of that was getting pretty run down, especially doing Tuesday squats / deadlifts after a huge leg hypertrophy day on Saturday.

I switched to a high volume 5 day bro split and growth and progression has completely taken off. Part of this is no doubt due to a novel stimulus, but I think there are other factors at play. This is what I think is going on:

The three things you need to achieve growth are a calorie surplus, a sufficient stimulus, and sufficient recovery. Since the first is unrelated to the split you’re running I’ll leave it aside. For the other two, you are guaranteed to achieve those in a bro split. If you annihilate 1-2 muscle groups with twenty sets, they are going to be stimulated. If you wait a week to work them out again, they are going to be recovered.

Now, is this fully “optimized”? Probably not. Is there some junk volume in some of those sets? Undoubtedly. Are some muscles recovered enough to lift after 4-6 days instead of 7? For sure. But with the ULPPL I wasn’t sure I was getting great hypertrophy stimulus on the strength-focused U/L days, and wasn’t sure I was fully recovered at times either. The bro split has gotten me, if not optimized, probably 80% of the way there. It’s effective and idiot-proof, which is great for an older newb. It’s also taught me the pace at which different muscles recover, which will be really helpful when I change the split again at some point. Plus it’s just fun as hell. I imagine I’ll work in some bro splits for the rest of my lifting days. Curious to hear others’ thoughts or experiences with it…