F/38/5'6/120lbs - Total beginner looking for insight / perspective from more seasoned fitness nerds

radekm

Hi there everyone! I've always been fairly healthy, good diet etc. but have recently decided I want to just generally turn my light up a few thousand watts.

Like lots of people right now I had a tough couple years. I picked up smoking, quit. Finally got my alcoholism under control.

Now I gotta keep going. I'm looking for general pointers on diet (I'm a vegetarian, but willing to incorporate fish if need be- would life to avoid dairy as much as possible though), toning v. weights (I do NOT want to get too bulky- my arms and traps especially get huge if I'm not careful), how much cardio is too much (several years ago I was doing 25 mi/week running) and any other tips you might give a total beginner. I have a few months coming up off of work and I want to live at the gym.

My areas of focus are: Mostly, I want to change my body shape. Fix overall posture (you can see my shoulders slumping in pic 3- posed, flexed and fixed posture in last pic), develop booty/hips, flatten tummy a bit and tone, tone tone.

I also want my boobs to get a lift but don't want to get more myscle-y underneath than absolutely necessary!

Honest perspectives welcome!

@radekm Ok so.. in my opinion I would suggest going with 3 full body weight sessions a week focusing on compound lifts ( think squats, bench press, dead lifts, over head presses and rows) keep your rep range high between 8-12 for about 3 sets.

When you utilize compound lifts you are hitting multiple muscle groups so more bang for your buck. I would start out around 40% of your max lifting ability and maybe push it to 60%. This will help give a nice toning approach and also help with your muscle endurance some without adding much in the way of size.