Flaky friend gave me newfound motivation and self respect (plus I’m 7 lbs down!)

hillsong2014

My best friend and I have been working out M-F mornings together for the last 6 months. I am NOT a morning person, but because she starts work earlier than I do, I force myself to wake up at 6 so we can work out together at 7.

I’d make my coffee, change, and sit around in my workout clothes ready to go at 7 and wait for her “I’m here” text while mindlessly scrolling through Instagram. I realized I was wasting up to 2 hours this way. Things like “oops woke up late! Be there in an hour” were an almost daily occurrence.

Over time, it really started to upset me because I could have slept in longer had I known, or done something more productive with my time. After all, I’m waking my ass up at 6am to work around HER schedule!

I should mention I absolutely loathe conflict and confrontation, so I’d quietly harbor resentment inside but just brush it off. Until a few weeks ago.

If I’m ready at 7, why SHOULDN’T I just set that appointment with myself right? What was I gaining scrolling through my feed for hours in my workout clothes, like a puppy waiting for further instructions? So that’s exactly what I started doing. At 7, boom I’m in the gym. I’m now able to squeeze in a 6 mile run (while binge watching Hulu) all before she even gets here in the mornings. Which is awesome because I’m in such a great mood by then that any resentment brewing is just gone. She sees how drenched in sweat I am, and I casually brush it off as “oh I was dressed and ready so I was just catching up on shows.” It’s perfect.

I’m able to avoid confrontation while sending the message “I’m not going to wait around for you.” It has done wonders for my morning routine and it just feels damn good to be able to keep the promises I make to myself, which I’ve struggled to do my whole