Having a sore neck? Try these stretches and see if it helps soothe your aching neck

Hey ladies of r/xxfitness,

Most of us who sit for long hours in front of the computer will eventually suffer from sore necks and neck pain. This neck pain can cause us to be unable to sleep properly at night.

Some of us simply attribute it to old age and then ignore the pain. Or we just wish for it to go away without doing anything.

The good news is -- you can totally do something about it.

What I have done is I have compiled 7 neck stretches you can do to help soothe that aching neck.

Before I continue, I would like to say I am not an expert, and these are merely exercises that I have compiled after reading and watching enough articles and videos (and testing it out) on neck exercises.

With that said, here we go:

1. Levator Scapula Stretch | GIF

How To Do:
  • Raise your elbow above your shoulder.
  • Rest your elbow on the wall or against the door. This helps rotate the outside of the shoulder blade. Doing both * * Steps 1 and 2 will lengthen the levator scapulae muscle.
  • Turn your head away from the stretching side and bring your chin down. This stretches the back of your neck.
  • To increase the stretch, place your other hand on the top of your head and gently pull your head forward.
2. Prone Cobra | GIF

How To Do:
  • Find a nice comfortable place where you can lie face down (preferably the pantry/gym/home if you want to hide yourself from your co-workers.)
  • Prepare a hand towel (all rolled up) to provide comfort for your forehead.
  • Lie face down and place your forehead onto the towel.
  • Place your arms by the side, and your palms down on the floor.
  • Pinch your shoulder blades together and lift your hands off.
  • Roll your elbows in, with palms out and your thumbs up.
  • Lift your forehead an inch off the towel (keep your eyes straight on the floor, don’t look anywhere else.)
3. Passive Neck Release | GIF

How To Do:
  • Roll up a bath towel.