High BF% not overweight

roarke

I have been dieting with a calorie deficit for a few months now.
I jog/walk 3-4 miles every day and average over 10k steps daily for over 2 years now.
I do weight training 3x weekly with egym weight machines using the muscle build format. It kicks my butt!
I’m currently at BMI 24.3 so I’m not reslly overweight but I’m working on losing another 15 pounds.
Despite all of this my % BF is at 36%. This is an improvement from what it last was on a Dexa scan (40%)
Is it unusual to have such a high BF when I’m not that overweight? Is it possible to improve my muscle mass while I’m in calorie deficit with weight training?

@roarke To answer your original question - it’s entirely possible for people new to strength training to gain muscle while in a deficit. However In this case, your age and gender are working against you. Your protein intake is a bit on the low side but within reason. If you are in fact losing muscle, I would suspect it’s because you are cutting too aggressively and/or not following a good program in the gym or not pushing yourself hard enough when you do lift.

@anne_l These could all be possible.
Right now because I’m new at weights I’m just doing the machines but it’s a pretty structured, automated program with regular strength tests and alternates adaptive, negative and “explonic” every two weeks.
I’m not sure what to do about the deficit because if I want the scale to move and have a deficit I just can’t eat many calories

@roarke Impedance scales are not very accurate. Pay more attention to the trend than the actual value. You could still be at 36% fat if you are under muscled. It’s possible you are losing muscle along with fat. How much protein are you eating? What is your rate of weight loss?

@anne_l Im definitely losing some muscle mass but im not sure what to do about it.
My average from my start date of 3/11 is 1.6 pounds per week but my current rate is 1.1 pounds per week.