If I train a muscle every 4 days I’m sore for 2-3 days after. If I train a muscle once a week I’m sore for 5-6 days after. Anyone else like this?

jonwalter

I’ve been training for 26 years and it’s always been this way. Curious if others have the same issue. I like training a muscle every 4 days so I’m not as sore, but I’m getting old (43) and I lift heavy weights and it’s taking it’s toll on me. About to switch to doing a muscle once a week to give my body extra recovery time, but I hate being sore all the time. Upper body is just an annoyance but leg soreness basically every day is the worst.

And I’ve tried every supplement, macro ratio, diet plan, etc. and no change.

@ginnyweasley1222 Depends. Most of the time both are pretty good, but I’ve had periods where they were really good and periods where they were really bad and it didn’t change my level of soreness.

@jonwalter I used to have the same issue. I recommend doing more compound exercises and starting really light and gradually building up your weight. It sucks to lift way under yo ur regular capacity for a while but it builds everything up and makes you focus more on form.

@jonwalter I have similar issue with my quads. Foam roller helps combined with some kind of exercise which I try to explain best I could. My yoga teacher recommends it to me and it helps but it takes 2-3 weeks until it will bring you significant results. Based what he said it's mainly linked with tight muscles which can't release enough.

Lie down on your back with legs straight and then try to tense your quad muscle in right or left leg, stop it for one w seconds and release together with breath out. Do it for several rounds 10-20, depends on your feelings. You can do it even when you are in bed before you fall asleep. You can combine it with foam roller before this exercise.

If you apply it please let me know about your results :)