Incorporating Mace and Club into my KB workouts

allison18

Hey folks,

I've been swinging KBs on and off for maybe 7 years. In the last year, I've all but abandoned olympic lifting in favour of doing only KBs.

I've been through a few programs (S&S a few times, DFW, etc) and have also just done semi-random complexes that I've made up.

Currently I'm doing the Wildman Nerd Math program and am really liking it.

I've added in some mace and club work after the KB work. I don't have a proper mace or club program. I'm just playing around, doing mostly 360s and 10-2s with the mace and various things like mills, reverse mills and shield casts with the club. I just play around for so many minutes, increasing the time-under-tension every week.

Instead of this random stuff, I would like a more planned out program that uses KBs, mace and clubs.

One idea that I saw Mark Wildman mention is to just get 3 distinct programs and interweave them.

Eg,

KB: "A"

Mace: "B"

Club: "C"

Two weeks of workouts would look like this:

M: A

Tu: B

W: C

Th: A

F: B

Sat: C

Sun: Rest

M: A

Tu: B

W: C

Th: A

F: B

Sat: C

Sun: Rest

Anyone have any better ideas or ways to work a mace and club in with KBs??

I'm also looking for suggestions on Mace and Club programs, but maybe I'm better off asking on r/steelmace and r/clubbells.

@allison18 I use the steel mace as a warmup before any kind of kettlebell or steel club work. Usually swing it for 10 minutes or so.

At the moment my priority is BJJ training so I’m not as regimented in my strength training, but I’m also following a Wildman Nerd program in which I alternate days of KB work and then work on one of the 3 workouts that Mark provided on his “Introduction to Heavy Clubs” from strongandfit.com which consists of Circles, pendulum swings, shield casts, squats and mills.