Injured wrist took me out of my two main active hobbies, what else can I do?

sarahz

I’ve been doing pole dancing and rock climbing as my main forms of exercise the past few months, with 1-2 days of strength training in between. On average I’d do each once a week, with some breaks and sometimes 2x a week depending on what else is going on.

i hurt my wrist last time i went climbing, 6 days ago, and anticipate being out of both activities at least 1-3 more weeks ): i can’t lift anything heavy with my right wrist without pain or twitching. i’m not 100 percent sure what type of injury it is but it is consistent with a TFCC injury.

I absolutely abhor running- I’m a G cup so even with a good sports bra it’s not comfortable for me. I’m wondering what I can be doing the next few weeks to stay in shape and keep my strength. I’m a beginner in both activities (started late 2023/ beginning of 2024) and I’m really worried about losing all my upper body strength and technique I’ve built up the past few months. I’ve also been losing weight and am afraid of gaining it baxk.

@sarahz Have you gone to a doctor about your wrist? If not, I would encourage you to do so, just to verify it's not something worse.

At minimum, just start walking more. You don't need to run. If you have access to a bike (stationary or other wise) that's a good option as well.

For strength training, do you have access to machines? That'll be the easiest way to get some weighted work in. You'd have to be careful about anything upper body. Find things you don't need to grip/push on and can just use your forearm for.

As for weight... your weight is controlled by your diet. So if you decrease your activity level from this, you need to cut back on the calories. Trying to do more walks/bikes can help keep the calorie burn up.