M, 6ft1, 185lbs, 2 years progress

gtorre

Mildly NSFW Pics (partial nudity). Terrible MSPaint skills.

Stats:
  • Height: 6ft1
  • Weight: 175lbs > 185lbs
  • Squat: 45lbs > 260lbs
  • Bench: 45lbs > 175lbs
  • Deadlift: 130lbs > 440lbs
I lift 4x a week, basically a PHUL type program (main compound lift followed by accessories).

I have no background in strength or athletics and completely neglected physical exercise from about 16 to 33 years old, except for the odd short term construction job in my early 20s.

Things I've learned:

As you can see my strength is pretty skewed. I am disproportionately stronger at pulling movements, and meanwhile I have a recurring shoulder/rotator cuff problem that basically prevents me from progressing chest exercises at all. Hence I'm developing a gorilla back and basically no pecs, lel.

Hard pills to swallow:
  • My shoulder problem won't get better by itself. I need to focus on actively rehabbing it, and failing that - surgery. But repeated attempts to simply rest and then go back into training have not been successful.
  • Having no background in sports is a big deal. I had to throw away the idea that I could just do a minimalist Starting Strength type program and blow up my squat to 300+lbs in 6 months. I was not physically prepared for heavy barbell training at first, and had a number of small injuries starting out that highlighted this fact. If you're really out of shape, you need a whole bunch of different kinds of exercise along with barbell training. If a set of 6 not very heavy squats gasses you out, that is you.
  • You basically never look as good as you do in your best progress pics. When you see progress pics on the internet (like mine), assume the actual person doesn't really look a whole lot different. At the very least they're not walking around with rippling muscles everywhere.
Things that surprised me: