[Meet Report] 2017 USPA Drug Tested Nationals. May 13, 2017. 633.8 (287.5) @ 148 (67.5) Junior 20-23 Raw (x-post from r/powerlifting)

caelo21

Background: I have been lifting seriously since January of 2016 and Nationals was my second meet. I started seriously training for my first powerlifting meet in May 2016. My fiance (husband in less than 3 weeks!) and coach (/@bruyas) had me on a linear periodization program. I have been training 6 days a week with Sunday being my rest day. We tried a different peaking program for this meet. I ran the peak that Marissa Inda uses. Coach and I agreed that this was a mistake. I'm not a mature enough lifter to handle the amount of stress this program put me under. This was my first meet that I had someone to compete against. Since competing last October, I have switched to sumo. I'm a much better sumo pulled because of my wide hips but I'm confident that I can pull conventional if I need to.

Squat:

Opener: 100kg/220.46lbs. This was a number that I was confident in being able to smoke in the meet. Two white lights, One red light from the right side judge.

Second: 110kg/242.5lbs. This was another number I was confident in. This was my third attempt from Battle of the Beasts last October. Two white lights, one red light from the right side judge.

Third: X 117.5kg/259.0lbs. I got right at the top of my sticking point and was gassed. I tried to push through it but I didn't want to end up hurting myself. My best squat is 250 in the gym so I really should have made this lift. Three red lights.

Bench:

Opener: 47.5kg/104.7lbs. We picked this because I can easily hit this for 5 reps any day of the week. This was my second and best attempt from Battle of the Beast last October. Three white lights.

Second: 52.5kg/115.74. My decent was slower than it should have been but I made the lift. Three white lights.