Meet report APF/AAPF Michigan Fall Open (Full Power) Grand Rapids, MI October 8, 2016 (x-post from /r/powerlifting

abeazishar

General reflection:

This was my first powerlifting meet, and it was a great experience! I have been powerlifting for about 2 years with some breaks due to injury, but I trained specifically for this meet for 12 weeks with Candito 6 week strength. I chose to not worry about what weight class I made and just train my lifts over those 12 weeks, so I undershot my weight class by about 5lbs.

If you are in the midwest, I highly recommend doing a meet run by the Michigan APF. The meet was well orchestrated, efficient, had a great atmosphere and had some beastly guys lifting. The only somewhat negative point I would bring up is that they compete Raw, Classic Raw, Equipped Single-ply, and Equipped Multi-ply as well as AAPF and APF all in the same meet. That means that often there are only 1-3 people in each classification which means most people technically get first place. I will say that it was actually really fun to see people going all out in equipped because I never get to see that at my home gym! I competed in 75kg Junior Raw AAPF. I currently train completely raw, but will be adding a belt to my training going forward. There were also enough women (~15) to have an all women’s flight which awesome. Anyway, onto the meet itself.

BW: 72.7 kg (75kg class)

Squat:

Opener 85kg: Lowballed my opener since it was my first time on the platform, so this went up well. 3 whites. Video

2nd: 90kg: Have also hit this regularly in training, but I wanted to play it safe. 2 whites because I jumped the rack command by a smidge I believe (forgot to ask the judges). Video

3rd: 97.5kg: 90kg felt good, so I got greedy and went for a 7.5kg jump instead of my planned 5kg for a 5kg PR instead of 2.5kg. Started off well but just couldn’t make it to the top. Lesson learned for next time! Video

Bench: