[Meet Report] SPF TN State Championships, Goodlettsville, TN | 297.5kg@65.5kg (655 lbs) | 310 Wilks | Raw w/ Wraps (x-post r/powerlifting)

mnms4him

Background

This was my first meet! For some background, I have been lifting in general for about 2 years and training specifically for powerlifting for about a year. I train with a team and a coach and run a program written by my coach (happy to answer any specific questions about my programming).

My first meet was supposed to be in June 2016, but I had a bit of a medical emergency--a saddle pulmonary embolism that nearly killed me and landed me in the hospital for 10 days. Needless to say my plans for my first meet were shot, so I decided to complete a conditioning/hypertrophy block before I started prepping for this meet. I think it helped SO MUCH and I'm stronger than I was pre-hospital.

My main goal for this meet was essentially to just get a total! I had my openers set, but let my coach and fellow teammates make my 2nd and 3rd attempt selections on the fly. I'm grateful I did this!

Squat

The squat is the lift I'm the least confident in, but the only lift I went 3/3. I think my attempts were planned perfectly, and I'm glad I decided to compete in wraps. I struggle with my form the most in the squat, and wraps give me so much more confidence!

Attempt 1 - 92.5kg/203.5lb (Good): I was SO NERVOUS before this lift. Super, super shaky, and the bar was a lot thicker than the one I train with (60lb squat bar) so everything felt off. I smoked it though, and was so relieved to get the first lift out of the way.

Attempt 2 - 97.5kg/214.5lb (Good): I felt really confident in this attempt,

Attempt 3 - 102.5kg/226lb (Good): My only gripe here is that I didn't go up to 105kg, which would have been a PR for me. It was fairly easy and I think I had more in the tank, but overall I am glad I went 3/3.

Video

Bench