Not finding the classes provide enough volume

zekori

Hey guys. I’m fairly new to CrossFit. I’m used to training 4-5 times a week. Mainly strength and conditioning work. Kinda picked up crossfit so I wasn’t doing it on my own.

I’ve picked up CrossFit and I’m enjoying it. But I’m finding the hour class isn’t enough. Normally I’d do an entire S&C workout like oly lifitng, heavy squats, accessory work, then do a metcon. I’m finding I feel like I do only one of the movements I described about then some skills and a metcon. It feels like I’m losing strength.

I want to keep doing CrossFit. But how do I supplement the classes with the other work too?

@zekori If your box offers open gym or is large enough that you can do your own thing before or after class, then do that. If your box only offers classes and you can't do additional work outside of class, then find a decently stocked traditional gym near you and do your supplemental work there. Lots of people do exactly that.

@pj1070 I do have an open gym it’s just very rammed. It also gets massively expensive to do both lol. But I agree that’s the best way to do it!

@zekori Find the people at your gym who are hitting the big numbers when they lift, or look the way you want to look, or whatever your goals are, and ask them. They have firsthand experience with whatever programming your gym uses.

@zekori Plenty of people supplement CrossFit with non-CrossFit workouts.

You ain’t an outlier in feeling a 45 minute workout 3 days a week doesn’t scratch that itch.

@zekori CrossFit is an intensity-based methodology. It’s lean on volume with the thought that you can always go faster. If general health and fitness is your target, this is a great program. But it looks like you’re coming from a sporting perspective. If that’s the case, CrossFit should simply be supplemental to your main S&C if at all. Really, if you’re looking for sports performance, you should probably check out Field Strong by Power Athlete.