Protein shakes per day?

nickaustin

I’m trying f to get my nutrition right, starting with protein and total daily calories, before focusing more on how to improve my workouts.

I’ve always just worked out on and off and at times sort of track daily calories… I don’t think I’ve ever had the proper protein intake.

So I’ve researched protein shakes and picked up what I think it’s a good one that has 25 grams protein per serving.

Do people consume multiple servings per day to reach the daily protein goal?

I’m just under 6’ and around 205 right now, probably in the 25% fat range since having kids and being a bit lazy over the past few years. I think I’m aiming for 160-180 grams of protein per day.

@nickaustin I have two. I’m a teacher so getting regular protein throughout the day usually requires me to have some shakes during breaks in classes. I usually have 3 meals with ~40g and two shakes of ~30g to get my intake comfortably.

Sure; I would prefer to eat food but it’s a matter of convenience.

@lanam Ditto. Vanilla protein power with plain 0%fat greek yogurt = bomb

Mix in a splash of milk to thin it out, jelly/stevia to sweeten :)

This is usually my preferred bedtime meal.

@nickaustin I use it for efficiency but make an effort to avoid when possible. When cutting they are essential for me as the calorie to protein ratio is unmatchable. I can drink anywhere from 2-4 scoops a day then. In a bulk I can usually hit my protein goals without shakes due to the caloric excess.

@nickaustin 1 serving a day mixed in my coffee. I am for .7g per lb BW a day, I am 150lbs-so more is not necessary since i’d rather eat my protein than drink it.

@nickaustin I sometimes have 2, but I make sure I get at least one in... anywhere from 50-80gs. If I can at least get that in, I can usually hit my target protein through the rest of my meals.