Starting from practically zero. Can a YouTube workout video work as a general routine?

jimreaper

The video I have in mind.

I’m very, very unfit. I’m starting from, essentially, bed bound. I can do 5 minutes of the video before I’m completely and utterly exhausted, and that’s even with a 1-2 minute break.

The exercises in the video are approachable. I’m not intimidated by them, and they are all things I can generally do with slight modifications.

My goal is to improve my general fitness. Mostly better cardio health and, as I’m losing weight, a way to keep from losing too much muscle mass. I’m not to worried about gaining muscle or toning my body just yet.

Would it be beneficial to do the five minutes of the routine I can do, take a day or two rest, then give it my best again, or would it be detrimental as it’s not a full routine?

@jimreaper I am not a professional, but every bit helps. If you can see a physician and talk to them about your goals. They may be able to help guide you.

Also, I need to try and drop 40-50 lbs myself. I work full time, with mandatory overtime, and the poor diet and stress snacking had crept up the last few years. I've been putting it off for various excuses, but I'll start doing this video and checking in with you, if you'd be ok with it.

@jimreaper They have 5-10 minute videos on YouTube that I like to do. I recommend MadFit or Pamela Reif at you level. Don’t force yourself to start with 30 minutes.

Plus, You can do 3 videos at a time. If you want 30 minutes.

@thules Agreed. I would also recommend going for a walk. If she can't go around the block, walk out her front door and go to the sidewalk and back. When she can go 5 minutes, then add 5 minutes per week.