Struggling with progress/gains

mattellis

I started out on Geoff Neuperts 12 week program with 12kg (a little light) and then completed The Giant 1.0 with 16kg

Currently running 1.1 with the 16kg

I just don't feel like I've gained ANY muscle considering I've been training for 6 months now

I'm thinking of switching programs to something a little more "bodybuilding"

I was thinking of keeping the programming base the same but mixing in other stuff

Eg:

Workout A
- Clean and press autoregulated for 30mins, possibly following The Giant rep scheme and changing each time I perform workout A
- Chin ups - 3 sets to failure, increase until I hit 10 strict reps and then add weight
- Curls/tricep superset

Workout B
- Swings perform 100 reps in as fewer sets as possible
- Squats? I haven't figured out a rep/training idea for these yet, not a fan of sets to failure on squats so advice sought here
- Lateral raises 3 sets to failure

Perform this alternated MWF

Any thoughts?

@mattellis So you don't feel like you're gaining muscle. Are you gaining weight to begin with? Are you eating to grow?

Your plan looks decent - my only worry is that you'd be dropping the frequency for C&P a lot. You could modify it to have The Giant every workout, followed by:
  • A: Chinups, curls, triceps, as outlined
  • B: Swings, squats, lateral raises. Swings and lateral raises as you've described - squats could be 3-5 sets with 2 reps in reserve.
Alternatively, you could give it the DFW Remix treatment, with squats as part of the Remix part of the program.

As another alternative, I recently did what I called The Hydra. Every gym workout I'd do:
  • 30 minutes of The Giant for double kb snatch
  • 30 minutes of The Giant
  • 30 minutes of The Giant for double kb front squat
  • Often I'd do some barbell work, dips or weighted chinups at the end. Sometimes I didn't feel like it.
  • Towards the end I'd superset the exercises. Snatch/burpees/chinups, C&P/chinups, squats/double swings/situps.