What weight should I use for my first kettlebell(s)? (m/1.79m/80kg/untrained)

ouznini

Hello everyone!

The more I read about the right weight for my first kettlebell(s), the more uncertain I become. That's why I'd rather ask for individual advice here.

About me: I am 1.79m and weight 80kg. After a very long absence from sport, I have now started exercising again and am looking for the right kettlebells. I have no lifting experience. I can do 3x10 push-ups and 3 chin-ups with a narrow grip, if that tells you anything.

I often read that beginners are well equipped with a 16 kg kettlebell. In other places I read that two different ones are recommended.

Now I could get a used one with 20kg pretty cheap. I could even afford a second one. Which weight would you recommend as second kettlebell?

Or should I just get one with 16 kg?

Edit: I'm on a super low budget. Max I could afford would be the used 20kg (40€) plus one additional.

Edit2: Thanks a lot for all your input! I bought a 16kg and the 20kg kettlebell.

@chanteuserose Thanks for your suggestion, but I'm on a super low budget. I could get the used 20kg cast iron for only 40€ from a neighbour and would have some money left for one more with a different weight.

@ouznini The 20kg will be useful for a while. Get that one since it's cheap, and see if you can press, push press or jerk it.

If you can do that, it's a viable weight. At that point you don't have to get anything lighter. It'd be perfectly fine to just start out with that one and see whether you want to fill in above or below.

There's a chance you'll need a 16kg, or maybe even a 12kg - but if that's the case, the 20kg can still serve you well for swings, goblet squats, rows, deadlifts and carries.