Why am I still overweight even though I consume 1000 fewer calories daily?

dancibutterfly

Hello everyone

I am a 19-year-old male weighing 120 kilograms. I work as a programmer and have very little physical activity during the day. However, I have been on a diet for a while now, consuming 1500 calories daily instead of the 2500 calories my body needs. But I'm not losing any weight at all. Could the issue be with my metabolism? Could it be related to my job? Can I change this trend by walking for 1 hour at a moderate pace every day?

@dongphong19 True, but we are talking about the fact that he is tracking his intake incorrectly. And one very common way people mis-count intake is by not tracking the calories in liquids they ingest.

@littlechu i don’t disagree with you, but there’s multiple ways people commonly miscount. Caloric drinks is one, underestimating portion size too and also estimating calories instead of weighing and counting their actual food (or drinks as you mention)

@dancibutterfly Ask a close coworker/friend to review what you imput. It's very easy to overview some items while thinking you counted everything.

Weigh EVERYTHING, don't guess. Air and water excluded. Salt, sauces and sodas should be accounted for.

If your account is correct, it might be your app. Either you enter approximate food items because the app doesn't have exactly what you consume, and it accumulates giving you a false count. Either the app is just bad at counting. Which one is it ?

@dancibutterfly It’s clear that you’re not truly eating 1500, less food would automatically drop weight, id cross check your numbers and food again, condiments oils nuts etc all add up very fast just saying

@dancibutterfly If your TDEE is 2500, cut down to 2000-1900.

What I think is happening is that you don't really track that well, maybe you just do it in your head and guesstimate most of it.