Work out to correct posture and trim fat

kadee

Hey all,

I’m a 23 y/o male, I’m 5’10”, approximately 150 lbs.

I have quite a rounded back and slumped shoulders that I’d love to work on but I’m not sure how to do that at home.

I’d also like to trim some fat, while I’m by no means over weight, I find that I have a bit of excess fat on my thighs and lower stomach that I’d like to tone.

I’m a student, and I’m working also, so making time to go to a gym is difficult. I have an exercise bike, a 20lb dumbbell, and I’ll thinking about getting a weight set that has a curl bar.

Can anyone recommend some work outs that may be able to help me with my posture, and to some my body a bit? Not looking to get big or anything, but some muscle definition would be great.

Thanks in advance!

@kadee I’m not a huge lifter so maybe others who are will have ideas for how to correct posture with lifting, but consider trying yoga. I know it seems silly, but a lot of the poses are meant to help align your body, with a focus on isolating muscle groups to fully achieve the poses over time, which helps you control which muscle groups you use while you’re lifting or doing other workouts. Even mountain pose, which is literally just standing there, involves focusing on aligning your spine, distancing the top of your head from your pelvis, shoulders back and down, and then learning to relax into that pose so it becomes second nature.

Also seriously helps with toning…while it’s not great for major weight loss, there is a reason it’s called a “yoga body.”

@xxtokedspacejesusxx I’ve done yoga in the past, and it did make me feel pretty good. I’m not a flexible person but after a month or two I was able to touch my toes, which was pretty cool hahaha. That’s definitely a good call, thanks for reminding me that yoga exists!

@kadee Super new to Reddit (hence the miniscule karma), but I'm a 500-hour trained yoga instructor who used to have shit posture.