X-post from r/veg: My 2.5 year vegetarian bodybuilding progress

forgiven4ever

Hello /r/veganfitness! Though I am not vegan (I was for about three months when I tried a raw food diet long ago) I have been a vegetarian for 6 years now. What I have learned as a vegetarian trying to gain muscle can definitely be applied to vegan fitness as well. One of the main concepts that has helped me is to eat enough calories from carbs and fat so that my body preserves the protein I do take in to rebuild muscle tissue. I think most people overdue protein in the fitness world. 1 gram per lb of lean bodyweight is plenty! In the past simply not eating enough was holding me back, not the vegetarian diet which I have continued to maintain 100%!

2.5 years ago I started lifting weights and have never looked back. I have always been passionate about the benefits of being a vegetarian, and I wanted to prove that you can still put on muscle without eating meat. I'm far from done, but I have come a long way.

My transformation

Now I could really use your help. I built a website to show others how to workout. I believe if I can teach how I have made progress I can inspire others to do the same, and alter preconceived notions that the vegetarian or diet is limiting in fitness.

www.jasonhfitness.com

If you are a vegetarian/vegan and want to learn how your diet will not hold you back or just want some motivation I will be updating my blog every week and focusing on this topic. If you want to learn how to workout you can subscribe to my daily workout planner on my website. You can also follow me on Facebook where I will be available to answer questions as well. I'm hoping to reach more people so I can begin to make a difference. Thank you!

Feel free to AMA! I'd love to share what I have learned.