2024 Strength Goals - 2nd year lifting

naate

I started lifting in March of 2023, but I didn’t really have any specific goals. I would like to set some strength goals for 2024, but I’m not really sure what I can expect in my second year of lifting. I’m past the point where I can expect linear progress and I’m aware that this varies a good deal person to person. I’m looking for a range of what someone like me might be able to accomplish + y’all’s experiences in your second year of lifting.

So what are some realistic strength goals for a 140lb, 25 y/o female in their second year of lifting? I’m looking to set goals for my bench, squat, deadlift and possibly overhead press. Also I’m not looking to set weight or muscle size goals - just strength. My current 1 rep maxes are:

Squat 185lb

Deadlift 170lb

Bench 90lb

(and embarrassingly I don’t know my overhead press 1 rep max, probably somewhere between 60-70 lbs)

Let me know if there is any other information that would be helpful.

Also what are y’all’s goals for 2024 and if they’re lifting related - how long have you been lifting for?

@naate Obviously everyone's different (athletic background! genetics! leverages!) but as someone around the same size as you, my maxes two years in were:
  • Squat: 195 lbs. Obviously you are almost there already, so you probably have a lot more potential! (It took me a pretty long time to sort out my squat, fix my depth and find the right stance for me; I was still in the midst of that struggle at that point.) I suspect you would have no trouble breaking 200 lbs this year.
  • Bench: 125 lbs. I am not a very strong bencher, so I think this could be pretty realistic for you to achieve!
  • Deadlift: 305 lbs. This has always been my outlier lift, so probably not too useful for comparison. I suspect that technique improvements could give you major gains on this one given the ratio to your squat. 225 lbs could be reasonable to aim for.