32yo F and 5 knee surgeries. Am I doomed?

elyonathan85

Im a 32yo F, current weight 148lb, and I’m 3mo post-partum. I chase my toddler around and pick up the house 24/7, I work as a nurse doing 12 hour shifts. I’d like to think I live a pretty active lifestyle. I’m currently recovering from my 5th knee surgery. R ACL 2008, R meniscus 2012, R ACL 2020, L meniscus 2022, L meniscus 2023. As you can see, I’m prone to knee injuries. I grew up doing competitive cheer for 10 years, and played 1 year of soccer in high school.

I’m ready to get back into the gym and start shedding some of this weight. It’s great therapy for me, and being healthy is important to me.

I feel like I’m doomed though. I’m so scared of another knee injury. I stay away from running (which I love), and try to utilize the stairstepper and elliptical.

Is it possible for me to gain muscle in my quads/hamstrings given my knee injuries? I have veryyyyy little muscle mass in my legs. They’re definitely the weakest muscle group on my body, aside from core.

I don’t really know what I’m looking for in terms of this post I guess. Maybe words of encouragement, maybe someone who’s been in a similar boat can share their experience?

@elyonathan85 Can’t say enough how knees over toes guys routine saved my knee. I couldn’t squat anymore after hurting knee powerlifting and I had stopped completely and after a few years found him on YouTube and was enthralled did some research tried some of his simple moves and it helped a lot in very short order.
So I went and paid for his program. Saved my knees and I can squat again.

@lordane The main few that really helped are the actually atg split squat where you use a slant board and lunge forward with your knee going way over your toes and back up. That felt like gold on my knee. Also the super slow step downs off an elevated surface. And Cossack squats.