[~6 months of Progress] M/33/6'0" 205lbs to 192lbs x-post /r/fitness

romrulida

In hindsight I thought that this post might prove more relevant here rather than in /r/fitness

Background
Since my late teens, early twenties, I have always been fairly athletic. I started training in martial arts at the age of 20 and have been doing so ever since. During my hey-day I was in great shape. My workouts during that time consisted of mainly conditioning, flexibility, and body-weight fitness (plus a bro-split). Fast-forward about 10-12 years; marriage, first kid, grad school, and less actual hard training and more teaching resulted in me gaining about 20-25lbs.

I still taught MMA 2-3x a week but I was off my game. My conditioning was crap and I was struggling with guys that were 10 years younger than I was. This resulted in me actually sparring less and focusing on solely on technique and drills with my students (something I said I would never do). This was pretty much me (the guy on the right). I felt like a paper-tiger, I was depressed.

Crossfit-Football
Prior to my fall from grace. I had done some "crossfit" style type workouts with a group of friends that were into parkour. We trained about 5 days week and it consisted mostly of tabatas, metcons, and bodyweight with a smattering of free weights (no compounds). It complimented martial arts and my conditioning was awesome.
Once I decided to get back in shape I was considering crossfit once again, however, I was unsure about actually joining a "box" By chance I stumbled upon CF-football. After some more research I realized that I no longer wanted to have the most stamina on the mat but rather the most power. CF-football seemed to make sense. I started my first class this past June.

Routine