Bad follow up dexa scan, where to go from here

hvkadk12

So I got a dexa scan today after 5 months, expecting to see at least a bit of muscle gain along with some fat. The results were almost 5lb of fat gain and slight muscle loss and going from 27.7% BF to 31% at 5’3

Here’s the report and a photo of me yesterday after a workout:
I’m at a bit of a loss here on what to do. Prior to the first scan I was running 3-5 miles ~3 times a week and doing light full body dumbbell workouts 1-2 times a week.

I started lifting heavy (focusing on squat, deadlift, and hip thrusts) around April. I had a running injury so took about a month off from running, while prioritizing lifting in June but now I’m running 2x a week ~3 miles. I do legs 2x a week and upper body 1x a week.

Lifting has increased my appetite quite a bit so I’ve definitely been eating more and not tracking anything other than aiming for 100g protein a day which is my bad but I assumed since I was progressing in my lifts I was building muscle when I saw the weight on the scale increase. I expected to see an increase in fat but not the decrease in muscle.

Do I trust the dexa scan? Do you guys think I look 31% BF? I’m bummed out because I enjoy lifting heavy but am thinking about switching back to running 3x a week and dropping a leg day. Also going to need to start calorie counting :(

edit: thanks all for the comments I appreciate y’all so much! I’ve had some body image issues before and am finally in a place where I’m happier with how I look and feel good about my body thru running/lifting. In the the direct aftermath of the scan I was definitely freaking out but your comments have reassured me. I think this will be the last dexa scan I get and I’ll track progress thru photos/measurements, lifting PRs, and running goals.