BEST PROTEIN??? I gotta know, What’s the best way you guys consistently keep up protein intake

gracia1

I’m 28M, 6’1” 150lbs, and I’ve been vegan for over a year, but have been transitioning to a plant based diet for 6 years.
I’ve been working out for about six months consistently at least 3-4 times a week and gaining significant strength increase but not much weight since I started. I’m hoping to add on maybe 10-15 lbs of health muscle. Any tips/rituals/habits for a skinny vegan trying to bulk up?

View Poll

@gracia1 All of these are good - no need to focus on one over the others. Tofu is cheap, easy, and high protein and my go-to... But I've gotta say Seitan is my all time favourite.

@gracia1 Seitan is probably the highest concentration of protein in a vegan food item outside of protein powder, for instance I make a huge batch of seitan "chicken" nuggets and pre-portion them. It's the cheapest option too.

I bought a 500g bag of vital wheat gluten for £1.70. I used 200g of that and all I added to this was a small amount of plain flour, a tsp of chicken flavour stock powder, some garlic and onion powder and salt, it made 8 servings of nuggets and each serving was 134 calories and 22g protein, and it cost something like £0.09 per serving. The whole bag of wheat gluten makes 20 servings. Also, I don't knead or boil the seitan - just mix with water, cut into chunks and steam them for 10 minutes. After that you can toss them in a bag in the fridge, and either fry or air-dry them when you want to eat them.

@gracia1 Pea protein is my go-to. I love soy, but my body doesn't tolerate it very well. The protein powders and protein shakes I use are usually pea-based.