DEXA Results: 24 y/o, 5’5”, 142 lbs, 31% BF

7an13l

DEXA results + pics

Got my first DEXA scan this morning and wanted to share the results! See the link above for the report and some current photos. I’m happy I finally scheduled this test - my results have definitely motivated me to keep working hard in the gym and clean up my diet a bit.

Workouts:

I’ve been exercising consistently (6 days/week) for ~3 years. In that time, I’ve tried out multiple routines, all with a focus on lifting. I’ve gone through periods of focusing on the major lifts, then shifted to more circuit-based routines, then back to heavy lifting....and now I’d say I am somewhere in the middle. I don’t follow a strict program and instead prioritize the exercises that I enjoy, which helps me look forward to my workouts! Currently, a typical week of workouts for me looks like this:

Sunday - Insanity class (full body HIIT).

Monday - Upper body/abs circuits.

Tuesday - Glute focused leg day.

Wednesday - 30 min stairmaster, plus abs.

Thursday - Glute focused leg day.

Friday - 30 min stairmaster, plus whatever muscle group I felt was lacking earlier in the week.

Saturday - rest.

Diet:

I’m a lifelong vegetarian, so I began tracking my protein intake when I got more serious about lifting and building muscle. I loosely track macros on MyFitnessPal during the week, and pretty much enjoy myself on weekends. I am still working towards finding the ideal balance between my social life and fitness goals 🙂 When I do track in MFP, I aim for 120 g protein and don’t worry too much about the carbs/fats distribution. On the weekends, I try to be mindful about my protein intake and not go TOO crazy when going out to eat/drink. This is the main area where I know I could be more strict!

During the work week, a full day of eating looks like:

Breakfast - 2% Fage yogurt or plain Skyr with fresh fruit (20-22 grams protein).