Frustrated after 6 months lifting weights

cthelight7

Hi all! I just starting strength training about 6 months ago after been pretty sedentary for a few years (thanks covid). I've been following a strength programme laid out by my gym - kind of a group personal training situation. It's 3 times a week and I have been fairly consistent. I've been feeling quite disappointed and frustrated with my progress lately. I feel like I should see a more noticeable change in my body by now and also have made more progress strength-wise. Here are my stats:

I am 5'2" and around 56kg/123lbs. My weight hasn't changed much since I started lifting, neither have my measurements.

Deadlift: 5x6 @ 35kg/77lbs ----> 5x5 @ 45kg/99lbs

Squat: 4x6 @ 28kg/62lbs ----> 5x5 @ 40kg/88lbs

Bench : 5x5 @ 20kg/44lbs ----> 5x5 @ 25kg/55lbs

The only difference I can really see in my physique is more defined biceps when I flex and maybe a slightly perkier butt. Diet wise I am trying to eat at maintenance as I have a history of getting obsessed and under eating. I'm also trying to eat more protein. Feeling quite deflated - is progress normally this slow or am I doing something wrong? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

@cthelight7 Get 7-8 hours of sleep at night, only way you will get stronger/gain muscle. Eat at a surplus, 500 calories and do light cardio for health and so you won’t get fat. Eat 100-120grams of protein. Workout like you mean it, boom you’ll see some crazy gains. Worked for me.

@cthelight7 "I eat at maintenance" well that's something you have to address first. I know CICO gets frowned upon to an extent these days but if you're trying to bulk up you gotta punch above your TDEE. How's your rest looking like? How many hours of sleep do you get? 6 months and 20lbs increase is usually a bit on the slower side of linear progression.