Getting stronger after 50

heart2soul

Hi all,

I have been training with TrainWithWaves programs for almost 6 months and have been training with Patrick @ngie as my coach for 3 months. I have made good progress and besides getting me stronger Patrick helped me train without triggering lower back pain by programming the right volume and giving me specific exercises.

I could C&P double 24 kg in January 3 reps. In May I pressed them 8 reps. I also pressed for the first time one 32 kg C&P for one rep.

My bodyweight increased around 9kg in these 6 months. I went from 85kg to 94kg, I am 1m90.

I am 50 y/o and would like to hear from others in their 50ties or older how much strength progress you have made after 50.

I am wondering how much progress I can still make. I am aiming for double 32kg as my 8 RM.

@heart2soul I’m not quite 50 yet (46 in September). Your post is a bit inspirational. As far as how much progress you can make, I don’t know. A variety of factors play into stuff like this. The possibilities are endless. You’ve made the first huge step…consistency.

Stay consistent and you might surprise yourself.

@heart2soul Consistency is key and having evolving goals all help. A coach can help too. And being ok with plateaus and knowing when you need to change things up a bit. I'm a couple of years away from 50, but looking at some decent goals to work towards. And really happy with kettlebells as the tools.

I'm finding endurance and conditioning and mobility are taking more priority than straight strength these days. Kettlebell sport is keeping me engaged, the different lifts and rankings offer a wide range of progress markers. A bit more hypertrophy and bodyweight stuff instead of barbells and so on seems to work well for me. But still gaining mass and muscle, and getting fitter every year.

Keep it up! Muscle mass is a key indicator for aging well. Been listening to some good podcasts with people like Kelly Starret and Peter Attia - worth checking out.