Going to a regular weightlifting gym ?

nikkimarie

Hello all
I have been doing CrossFit for about two years and I love it. This year I went from 3x a week to 4x a week, however my new box only does weightlifting once a week (first part complex with increasing weights then regular metcon) and alternates each week between C&J and snatches. We have another day of squatting fairly heavy then metcon.
I find myself having a hard time making any progress anymore in weightlifting, and I already reserve some time after class for gymnastics practice as it’s the thing I suck most at.
However I really enjoy weightlifting and would like to do more.
Would it be a good idea for me to attend a weightlifting gym once or twice in the week on top of my regular CrossFit classes? (Not on the same day oc). My main worry is not being able to recover physically (late 20s F). Mostly I would like to hear your thoughts and experience if you have done something similar.

Cheers!

@nikkimarie Can you just do drills at home with a pvc pipe or maybe buy a 15kg barbell and work on making your technique completely solid. Video yourself and make any corrections as needed

@nikkimarie Realistically you won’t get very far adding one day a week in. If you want to improve your weightlifting, I suggest taking an 8-12 week block and focus on weightlifting 3-5 days a week.

@tammy1ed2 They don’t do specific classes at my box sadly (very small box in a rural area), so I guess what you’re saying is go more to the weightlifting gym and less to the CrossFit gym for a while?

@nikkimarie I've got some personal experience with the Oly/CF tradeoff, and my $0.02 is that you are correct - if you want to improve, prioritize an Oly gym over your CF gym, at least for a while.