Got my first ever FULL Iron Cross in 10 months!! (AMA)

summer63

UPDATE: After attaining the iron cross, I am now working on attaining the Maltese and Inverted Cross.

Ever since I first touched rings exactly 1 year ago in May 2020, I never would have imagined this.

I started playing around with iron cross attempts from August 2020 onwards, and started proper programming from October 2020 (i.e. keeping elbows hyper-extended, no more just attempts but proper programmed progressions), and finally got my first ever Full Iron Cross (1 sec hold) today!!

My starting strength was roughly 5 bar muscle ups / 23 pull ups / 30 pbar dips / handstand walks (but no handstand still holds), but zero straight arm strength- no back lever, front lever, straddle planche, etc. I had done a bit of tucked and advanced tucked planche work during the 2 months from when I had just begun training on rings, before I started the iron cross training, but that was pretty much it.

The iron cross-specific exercises/progressions I did were as follows (in order of difficulty as per my opinion):
  • Bent arm ring support hold
  • Dips (first forearms against straps, then normal, then rto at the top)
  • RTO Support Hold (but elbows not fully locked-out/hyper-extended)
  • RTO Dips (first band-assisted, then without)
  • Strap + band-assisted iron cross isometric hold/pullouts.
  • Strap iron cross hold (could hold up to 12 seconds, before I proceeded to next progression)
  • (No Strap) Band-assisted iron cross hold- resistance band hanging from bar above (but no locked out elbows)= this was where I plateaued.
  • RTO Support Hold- but this time with strict locked-out/hyper-extended elbows (first normal, then 15-30°) = this helped break the plateau**
  • Feet on platform + band-assisted iron cross pull outs = this also helped break the plateau**
  • Feet on platform (no bands) iron cross pull outs = this helped condition elbows greatly**