Hard plateau in pull-ups

childofgod49

I have been working out for 15 months now and I have been around the same bodyweight. Stats (Height:6'1, weight: 185 lbs). Started at 1 pull-up and over the course of 7 months I got to 8 pull-ups. Initially I had two pull days where I did pull-ups to failure for 3-4 sets and was progressing linearly. During the 7-10 month timeline my pull-ups didn't even increase by a rep. So I planned to try something new and came across grease the groove method. I found that it was a great way to increase reps and i thought that I would give it a try.I was doing about 50% Max for 5-6 sets a day. I did gtg for 2 months and then I tested my Max after a deload. It went disappointing to say the least and I got only 8 reps. After that I tried k boges pull-up program for 2 months and even after that I didn't see any improvements. So my question now is will I ever be able to do 12 pull-ups? Is it over for me as I have tried everything possible?

@childofgod49 I don’t know if K boges plan involves weighted pull ups. If not I suggest you try that. I went from a 12 pull up one set max to 16 in 2 months by using a 20kg weight vest. I did 50 weighted pull ups in total every two days.

@childofgod49 Maybe shift your focus to strength. Get a weight belt and add 2.5 kgs, and work your way up to 3 (or any number, your preference) sets of 8, and repeat, then add another 2.5. Work like this for a month or two then test the number of body weight pull ups you can do.

@childofgod49 8 pullups is enough to add some weight. If you get used to doing them with +30lbs (to pick an arbitrary number) bodyweight will start to feel pretty light and I bet you'll get to 12 fairly quickly.

I'd recommend plates rather than kettlebells. The latter can bang you in the knee easily.