How do I get my cardio/running heart rate down? I already run slowly

zambieboy

I can run 3-5 miles without stopping but my heart rate is in the 180s, pretty much the whole time. Like it will climb for the first minute or so to the 180s and stay there. I usually feel pretty ok during it, not usually like I’m dying or anything. I’m already going slowly, 9-11 minute miles. I’ve been doing this for a few years, my heart rate doesn’t really get any lower. I recently learned I could actually be damaging my heart by doing cardio, which seems beyond unfair, but does anybody know how to fix this??

Would it be better to run so slow that I’m basically walking but still without stopping? Jog until my heart rate gets to 160 then walk and repeat? Stop running altogether? Does anybody have a fix for this?

For the record I played sports in school and I’m relatively active. I can do mountain hikes rated “advanced,” I like to bike, I don’t have any trouble keeping up with hour long Pilates, kickboxing, or hiit classes, although my heart rate is similarly high for those. I know as far as overall health I need to do cardio and increase my strength training, but running is supposed to be the best cardio, and it’s also free and there’s a well kept trial that runs by my house.

F/34
5’4”
114 lbs
BFP 20%, visceral fat 3 (according to a home scale, not an in body machine or dr office)

@zambieboy There is no need to run the whole time.

Break up your running into intervals.

I started with 1 minute running 1 minute recovery walk. I did this for 35 minutes with a five minute cool down for a week. 5 times a week.

Then slowly went to 2x1 running:walking. I keep my pace around 10-12 minute miles and HR 135-145. Five times a week for 30 minutes. 1 week

Then slowly did 2 days 4x1 and 3 2x1. Did this for another week.

Then 1 8x2 and 4 3x3

Basically i would have a day that would be a sweet spot training and the rest recovery. I focus on breathing, pacing, form.