How to improve my cardio?

kara1991

Hi I'm 31 F and I'm struggling. Every cardio exercise is torture to me. Especially burpees, my belly is in the way and I feel like my heart is about to stop. I avoid Team sessions because I know I will be a burden and yesterday my regular session turns out to be a Team one and I felt my teammate was so annoyed by me because they had more fitness than I do and I was slowing them down. It's really upsetting.

My question is how do I improve my cardio effectively?

P.S : I'm quite heavy ( around 110 kg)
P.S2: I've been doing crossfit for 4 months now, 2 times a week.

@kara1991 Long “slow” sessions running, biking, or rowing will work. Even add in walking. Then the hard part comes, you have to wait. It all takes time. It does get better though.

@girljesus Agreed.

HIIT isn't the be all and end all of cardio, and isn't really beginner friendly. You need to gradually improve your aerobic capacity in a sustainable manner and that means longer, gentler cardio sessions.

Do couch to 5k, or go cycling for longer durations or distances. Gradually increase the duration or intensity (there's plenty of free running or cycling plans around on the web) to ensure you're getting fitter.

Just keep it up, and before you know it you'll cope better with the HIIT.