I have my goals changing consistently and I don’t know where I want to go with my health journey

Hey all, I’ve been doing CrossFit for 5 Months now. It’s been tough but rewarding. I (m29) hadn’t worked out in 8 years and hadn’t done much activity since 2020. Basically just living a sedentary lifestyle filled with bad habits and unachievable goals. I Ballooned in weight and went from 240lbs to 295lbs at 6’3”, gaining about 12lbs a year.

I want to get back down but this has required a lot of effort. I’m putting about 6-8 hours a week currently and plan to increase to 12-16 hours, gradually.

I don’t know if I should cut weight and do more cardio, or keep some weight packed on and reduce using it weight lifting and cardio simultaneously. I don’t think the weight has been coming off anymore in method 2 as rapidly.

I’m currently back at 265lbs and with a nicer physique. But it’s not where I want to be, I just don’t know where I want to be now. My original goal was 225lbs. Is that attainable, yes. Would it fit my frame? I don’t know.

@vivekanandshastri Weight is dictated by calories, not hours in the gym or doing cardio.

Get a nutrition coach to help you reach your bodyweight goals.

At 6’3” 225 is not that big. It just depends on what you’re training for. Aesthetics? Strength? Competitive CrossFit?

@eligp1240 Thanks for the reply. Reasons I started CrossFit was for an increase in cardiovascular, strength and aesthetics.

I agree with the nutrition coach option and will look into it, that was a major recommendation from my doctor when I started. Although I do eat 100x healthier than before. I actually have trouble eating to hit macros that I have developed on my own, which might not be working, if I am starting to plateau.