Mid-20s Beginner - Advice Please!

monicaduncan

Hello! đź‘‹ I'm a 26-year-old male seeking advice as a total beginner. I'm 5'11", 195 lbs, and a pescatarian. My goal is to tone up, build muscle, and be more active. I don't have too much excess weight, but I carry a little bit of fat in my stomach, thighs and butt.

I've always wanted to be the kind of person who enjoys exercise, but I've never experienced the "rush" or the good feelings people always describe, so it's always just felt hard and painful (lol). I know it's never too late to begin, but I sometimes feel embarrassed that I'm in my mid-20s and don't have a clue what I'm doing when it comes to fitness. I've only worked out a few times with friends, and the couple of times I've gone to the gym with friends, I've felt lost since I'm inexperienced and don't know what to do/how to use the machines. I work a 9-5 desk job which makes it hard to be active, and my ADHD makes maintaining motivation a challenge for activities that require investing a lot of time/effort before seeing any results.

In the past, I've tried a few yoga classes, which I enjoyed, but living in a major city makes classes or personal trainers quite expensive and out of budget. I've also tried a few YouTube tutorials but I've always had a hard time keeping up/feeling motivated, and I don't like playing sports, so exercise/working out has never been enjoyable for me or something that I necessarily want to do. My goal is to tone my body overall, grow/firm my butt, and build a little muscle so that I can feel better, look better and become stronger. Any advice on starting out, staying motivated and getting past the pain would be greatly appreciated!

Overall, I've run into the following pain points and would love some advice/resources:
  • Getting Started - has always felt so daunting, especially as someone who isn't active. I feel like I'm missing all of the fundamentals and don't really know where to begin.