My completely subjective experience with, and advice for, starting a strength training program (as an absolute beginner)

lifeunlocked

I am making this post mostly because I wish I had read something like it when I first started. So, I assume there are lots of others like me: people who want to workout, specifically with a strength training program, but who find themselves in an endless loop of reading the sidebars/lurking in fitness subs, but never actually getting anywhere. As a warning, it’s a little long, but I do hope it can help someone.

I wanted to start strength training because I lost a lot of weight (about 115 pounds so far, although I have a little more to go before I’m a healthy BMI). I have worked hard on the weight-loss side, and wanted to work on the fitness-side. I had great success with learning how to lose weight by reading the sidebar of r/loseit carefully, and taking a few concrete steps (logging calories, using a food scale, etc.), but when it came time for me to start working on my fitness, those strategies weren’t working anymore.

There was just so much information: I browsed r/fitness, r/bodyweightfitness and this sub a lot. I tried to read their respective sidebars/FAQs. I lurked daily Q&A threads. I started to feel like I was learning a foreign language with how much much lingo I was constantly exposed to. After having been so successful with learning the basics of losing weight, learning the basics of fitness felt like moving from doing simple arithmetic (just counting the calories) to full-on multivariable calculus (find a program, out of all of the recommendations; balance this body part with that one; take enough rest days; and on and on and on). It was a lot. I wanted to start, but I never felt like I was getting close to understanding how to start. So, I broke it into steps.

Step 1: Just pick something.