Proper Pull up form (retracting or depressing first?)

gokua

Hi newbie here,

I´m having a question regarding proper pull up form,

do you

a) first engage your lats and then retract the shoulder blades

(e.g.
)

b) or first retract your shoulders and then engage your lats (depress shoulders)

( e.g.
)

I´m having a hard time with a) but retracting my shoulder first and then depressing it works fine.

Thx for your help

@gokua It's hard to do one without the other. Usually you'll want to start by depressing, but you'll be limited in terms of depression ROM if you don't also retract. So you should start by depressing, and then slightly retract to enable even more depression. But honestly don't overthink it, the movement should be what feels natural and comfortable.

@rachid I agree, always start out with depressing. Retraction does play a role even with a range of motion that is only vertical. But you're not putting the scapula in the position of retraction, you are just keeping tension for retraction to keep your shoulder/body neutral as you pull up. I see guys at my gym new to pull ups or just never really improved and as they pull up, they swing forward because they are not tensioning for retraction to keep control of the movement. Most people already have the retraction strength needed to stay neutral for pull ups and will learn to apply it without thinking about it after some time of training pull ups. If you do chest to bar pull ups, that's going to include a bit more retraction at the top and the scaps will actually be in the position of retraction. But chin to almost bar pull ups, retraction is just to be stable in the pull and is something most will just learn without thinking about it.