Protein intake after resistance training

pheadablessed

I am a 48 years old male. I am trying to get back into the fitness routine. Back in July, I was doing mainly cardio to get my bodyfat percentage down. Starting in August, I started doing resistance training 3 times a week with a personal trainer. He measured my bf% at the start. It was 16.9%. I just got measured again. It is at 17.1%. My muscle mass increased a bit. My trainer tells me to get more protein. I eat bean stew and nuts after workouts along with a protein shake of around 48 g protein. I am now trying to get more protein in after this post workout meal via another shake consumed over the course of the night and into morning. I have a high degree of muscle soreness after these training sessions. Is it a sign I need to get more protein? I am okay with gradual progression. I just want to hear of any tips from folks here who have experienced this at the beginning stages.

@pheadablessed Being sore when starting is common, I wouldn't worry too much about it (unless it never goes away).

For protein try to aim for 2.2g per kg of lean body mass (you can calc that from your bodyweight minus your body fat calculated using that body fat percentage). Don't worry if you can't hit that, but aim for it.

You want a contact source of protein throughout the day so take that amount of protein and divide it equally between your meals.

Eat something carby / sugary before you workout (gatorade or a banana) so you have some energy through the workout.

Nice one for starting, keep at it (and get enough water and rest, it will help with the soreness)

@pheadablessed FYI 2.2g/kg (1g/lb) is an overabundance, studies have never consistently shown benefit above 0.7g/lb but lots of people recommend 1g/lb because it’s an easy number and people like to take an overabundance for some reason.