The answer to all the “why am I not losing weight?” posts

butterfly2222

I joined this subreddit a couple months ago and I have to say, I see a lot of “why am I I not losing weight?” posts.

I thought I’d write this post as somewhat of an ultimate guide to all questions about weight loss and plateaus.

I understand that people want advice specific to their situation and some people are beginners and know nothing about weight loss and nutrition so I’m not criticizing. I’m also not an expert but I like to read research and I’ve been successfully lost weight on multiple occasions and at this point I’ve nailed it enough to know exactly how much I’ll lose and how fast.

First, I know there’s no wiki here but maybe go read the one from r/loseit as it still applies to us short women.

Now, here are the possible reasons why you’re not losing weight / you’ve hit a plateau:
  1. You’re losing weight but you’re not tracking it properly.
Are you weighing yourself in the same conditions, multiple times a week? That would be naked, right after waking up, after using the toilet. Ideally I would do it everyday, if not possible, at least twice a week. If the answer is no then you’re not tracking your weight properly. If the answer is yes, look at the overall trend, is it going down? If you’re weighing only once a week, it could happen on a day when you’re bloated or retaining water and you could not notice your progress.
  1. You’ve lost weight but it’s just not been long enough.