Tips for beginners in gym? I want to be more toned

terri777

Hello I got a YMCA membership in januar. I'm a 28 year old women. 190 pounds. I'm trying to get down to 130. I've been doing 30 minutes cardio but I want to add in weights . I want my arms to be toned and to get a pretty flat stomach . I also don't want to lose my butt lI want it to be perky . Can I get tips please. I'm a complete beginner . I'm not sure where to start or how much to do in a day. I plan on working out Monday threw Friday

@terri777 https://thefitness.wiki/weight-loss-101/

https://thefitness.wiki/muscle-building-101/

Tl;dr - Your weight is dictated by your diet. If you aren't losing weight, you're eating too much.

190 pounds. I'm trying to get down to 130.

I'm guessing then you're maybe somewhere around 5'5 or less in height? Just wanting to make sure 130 is a realistic goal

I want my arms to be toned and to get a pretty flat stomach

To start off, "toned" is a bullshit word. You don't "tone" anything. You build muscle and then be lean enough to see it. And I think you understand lifting weights = building muscle. Now this doesn't mean you flap around 2lb dumbbells for a few months and expect change. You need to lift heavy. Now if 2lbs is all you can start with for some lifts, that's fine. If you're still doing 2lbs for those same lifts a month in, that's not fine.

I also encourage you to follow a proper routine and work towards building muscle all over. This will help with your 2nd goal of a flat stomach.