Transformation Part 1 (5'7/M/34, 170+ -> 151) - Looking for trainer for Part 2

terenence

https://preview.redd.it/vy2ng93tsrb...bp&s=30c95662fc42c914d508d942a8f103693b78fc30

My Story-

I've been working out in some modality or another for 20 years. At 28, I was a 180lb powerlifter that couldn't touch his toes. I went through a major yoga phase. A year of calisthenics. You name it. While getting more and less fit, I've never actually gotten lean. My body is good at getting big + strong, but my first suit size was "husky" and I haven't seen an ab since birth.

Several years ago, i started eating modified keto (aka. keto + brussel sprouts), which is something I enjoy a lot, but this didn't make me lean. Turns out the laws of thermodynamics (aka calories in vs calories out) are not particularly concerned about macros. I've been intermittent fasting for about as long.

February 2020, after doing the recommended routine from r/bodyweight religiously for ~1/2 a year, I was still pretty chubby. I stumbled across a pretty popular youtuber who showed transformation after transformation, many of which were very impressive, on the basis of 2 simple ideas
  1. Count calories
  2. Lower calories over time (or increase their expenditure)
I bought a scale, stopped f'ing around, and over the next 6 months, despite covid bringing my workout momentum to ~0, I lost ~15 lbs*. I ended up skinnier, but sort of unfortunately flabby.

Major Lesson #1: Not counting calories is the longest shortcut I've ever taken.With the proper method, it took me 10 months to do what I couldn't in the preceding 20 years.If you want something, figure out the price and pay it.