What’s a little trick that made a huge difference in your form?

bkrolex

I have STRUGGLED with squats since I started lifting seriously about a year ago. I’m 120lbs and my PR is only 90lbs because I have some knee issues, poor ankle mobility, and tight hip flexors. Today my trainer told me to curl my toes under when doing barbell back squats. It was a little change but it made a big difference! Less knee pain and more drive through my heels.

What’s your little trick that really helped your form with one of your lifts?

@bkrolex Pullup like you’re trying to bend the bar in half. It really helps to engage the back especially for someone like me who couldn’t do it at all.

@bkrolex When I did my CrossFit level 1, the instructor told us how to cue a hip hinge for a kettlebell swing.

Pretend you’re bent, sticking your butt out to close the car door and someone comes up behind you and pokes you in the butt. That movement you would do if someone poked you (Your first instinct is to snap up and squeeze the cheeks) is the same movement as a swing.

@bkrolex Pretending I'm trying to push my shoulder towards the floor while doing single arm rows. It's literally impossible, but fixed all my form issues.

@bkrolex I have a few go to's

deadlift:
  • head shoulders knees and toes - singing it of course
  • strings pulling my nipples up
  • Push the ground away
Literally every shoulder exercise: back and down back and down back and down

@bkrolex I just started again after a long covid battle and I’m 125lbs and can only squat 40lbs…. 😢 I’m reading all these answers for myself.