25(f) - 5'6" - 110 lbs...Workout routine to get strong *and* build endurance (x-post from r/fitness)?

noelp2015

I am a student with full access to a gym. I also do indoor climbing 2x-3x/week.

I have zero endurance when I need to run/hike etc but I can swim laps in the pool... I completely get out of breath running a 13 minute mile and will be the first person to take a break on an uphill hike where others are just marching on :(

I also want to gain some muscle since I am at a low BMI right now.

From /r/Fitness I gather that I need to obviously eat more calories. I was hoping I could get some advice on what a good work-out routine would be. Full body weight training 3x/week + running for endurance?

Thanks in advance :)

@noelp2015 This might not be popular here, but since I've been doing CrossFit I've become much stronger and gained a ton of endurance too. Many of their workouts focus on bodyweight exercise, but are supplemented with weights and traditional cardio.

@tylvaen I think most bodyweight people are supportive of CrossFit as long as technique in gymnastic maneuvers is strict. Where people get frustrated by CrossFit is with people having poor form that can be dangerous or not as physically difficult.

@tylvaen I agree, CrossFit would be great to build a strong base of muscle/endurance. When you feel the time is right I would recommend switching off of CrossFit and work towards a schedule of real bodyweight exercises plus cardio on the side as per the FAQ.

@tylvaen As a student, I can't afford crossfit/adhere to a different schedule. I am going to start off at the school gym, which is pretty sweet and then go from there. Thanks though !

@noelp2015 Since nobody has said this yet, if you want to gain muscle, eat more. Actually track calories and macros. This is really hard for us females to wrap our brains around, but you seriously won't get stronger without fueling your body.