APT=no glute activation!

webstranger

This post is for ladies who are having difficulties firing glutes, or feeling the mind-muscle connection in dat butt.

Note: I am not a professional trainer, simply just a girl who has done self-study and personal research into getting some glute gains. After over a year of hip thrusts, RDL’s, hip abductions, froggy pumps, step ups, cable kickbacks, Bret Contreras, etc...I still had saggy cottage cheese butt in the most beautiful, undesirable SQUARE shape, because I could not, for the life of me, get my glutes to fire.

The lightbulb flickered when, one day, I was doing lunges, looked in the mirror, and observed that my entire torso was leaning forward at a slight angle, meaning that there was something wrong with my form. While doing the exercise, I had always concentrated on the front foot and the forward motion and the quad of the front leg. On a whim, I tried to put my energy into the BACK foot and also the GLUTE of the back leg as well as stretching open the HIP FLEXOR of the back leg.

Voila, my posture had straightened and opened up years of tight hips that I had never even knew about. It was like discovering a pile of mold behind your mattress because you had never bothered to even look underneath. I was leaning forward in the Lunge because of tight hips, or basically APT.

This led me to research more about the connection between tight hips and the inability to activate the glutes, and I wanted to share a few videos that I thought could help out any other gal out there who has “gluteal amnesia” whose glute exercises still aren’t building any desired results. All of these are anecdotal, of course, but even after a week of these smaller, isometric exercises, I already notice a more popping effect and perkiness of my glute muscles, AND I can feel the side glutes that I never felt before.

Here are the videos:

Hip Flexor Stretches:

Glute Activation Exercises:

https://youtu.be/-LUPDIiZgK0

https://youtu.be/grYGaod_ePw