As an experienced lifter are we shortchanging progress at all by doing a little cut to a 'beach leanness' each year?

jamierite74

Its commonly said to maximize long term growth potential you need to spend very long periods of time bulking or being heavy at unfavorable body compositions. Many take 2-4 years between BB comps.

Now that Ive been lifting for 13-14 years my LBM added each year is very minimal. While I want to maximize progress I also want to enjoy the fruits of my labor and not spend 99% of my time heavy at 15-20% BF.

Now if an experienced lifter does an 8-9 month bulk, and a 3-4 month cut each year. Not to a contest leanness but say 9% at the lowest. Do you think this will sacrifice long term growth? In theory I see no difference between this and a 2 year bulk and 10 month cut, its just a scaled down version.

@jamierite74 I mean, are you a competitive bodybuilder? What are your goals? I like balance between looking good and being strong. Those don’t always have to overlap though and it’s all relative. Right now I’m strong but I’m growing out of all my clothes. The fruits of my labor will be PRs but then a several months down the line it will be a six pack with more muscle mass then I’ve ever held onto. I’ve done 6 month bulks and I’m currently on like 18 months of bulk. I’ve seen results either way.

Optimization after 14 years of lifting is going to be deeply personal, not something you’re going to get from this tiny subreddit. Just figure out what you’re willing to sacrifice to reach your goals, both long term and short term.

@jamierite74 Is there really evidence that long bulk:cut cycles are more efficient than short ones?

I can see some reasons why it might be true (for example there may be lower productivity at the start of a bulk because you may be somewhat detrained for strength which may reduce your ability to apply a hypertrophic stimulus to your muscles). But I haven't really seen any evidence for this.