finally deadlifted w/o pain the next day

sharkbait13

It's not much, but I'm a beginner anyway, I was able to do 5 sets @ 225 (which is roughly my currently ~20lb overweight body weight)

The core stability and other work I think has paid off - single arm carries, step ups, lunges, belt squat.

I warmed up on kettlebell swings, read through my cues (tripod foot, external rotate hips, shoulders down, engage lats, weight over midfoot) and lifted with my shoes off.

Was a bit worried when I went to sleep since I could feel a bit of tightness in the muscles of the lower back, but slept nice and flat, without any issues. I also don't need to sleep with a pillow under my knees nowadays.

Going to add deadlifts into my routine (which is the basic Nuckol's linear progression) at just once a week (which is not what I did yesterday, Nuckol's is 1x10, then 3x5 on Week 1)

@sharkbait13 If you are having lower back pain in your deadlift you are likely not hinging correctly. Took me a very long time to get the hinge pattern down correctly. Prior to that I always tweaked my back.

@steve126 That is a problem, yes. I think deadlifting is using your back muscles regardless of technique. What I was experiencing before I think was a combination of things:
  • compensatory over-reliance on weak back muscles
  • the over-reliance is/was related to weak glutes
  • poor core stability and side-to-side imbalances
  • and yes, hinge technique
Generally I don't think it is usually just one thing but a series of interconnected things which lead to problems

@sharkbait13 Yep, you have to learn to drive forward with your glutes rather than 'pulling' the weight. I think of the deadlift as an upright weighted hip-thrust.

I had to drop the weight considerably to find a weight that my glutes could handle without starting to bring my lower back into the equation.