From runner to strength training - 9 month progress - 115lbs to 125 lbs (5"4)

ryanmrozek

This is my first time doing this, so if I link anything wrong or I miss specific information, please let me know. I'll correct it immediately!

NSFW Back View

Front View

Side View

The first set of pictures were taken on February 18th of this year, first thing in the morning. The second set of pictures were taken this afternoon, November 11th at 1pm, after breakfast and lunch.

Yes, a boy helped me accomplish this.

Before meeting my boyfriend, I ran 2 miles every day OR I did 20 minutes on the elliptical at a steady state. Every day. But that was it. Occasionally I did some plank holds, but that was my only form of exercise. I worked a relatively active retail job at the time as well, but otherwise I was relatively sedentary. I ate 1700 calories a day and never drank because I feared "wasting" calories. I tracked my calories to a T. (Can you tell I have a past of disordered eating? aha)

When I met my boyfriend, I found myself getting frustrated that I couldn't enjoy life with him. I always needed my 8 hours of sleep. I always needed to eat food I made. (This sucked as he loves to cook). As soon as we woke up, I had to go on a run. I never lingered in bed and cuddled with him. I always had to run. Even on the rare night he got me to go out and drink, I'd run through my hangover.

My boyfriend always listened to the podcast Mindpump. I too love podcasts, so he recommended the show to me. I could tell he also felt defeated by how strict I was with my routine. So I gave it a shot. I started to learn about reverse dieting and bulking and the power of strength training. Consistently, they berated cardio, noting how it was inferior to strength training.

Finally, I gave it a shot. Is topped running, and I opened up my life to friends, love, and discovering what type of physical movement pleased me.