Half-Marathon in 7 weeks for someone who hasn’t run in at least 5 years. Doable?

ryan5o

I’m a male 5’7” 180 lbs. I’ve been riding my soul cycle at least 3-5 times a week for about 6 months building up my cardio. 45 minute rides. Got on the treadmill for the first time in a while a couple days ago and I’m now really worried about the marathon. Ran three miles but it took me 50 minutes. My pace did get better the longer I ran. I’m not trying to get some great time. I just want to finish to prove to myself that I can still do it now that I’m 41. Friend talked me into it but he’s a damn fitness Adonis. I played competitive sports in high school and throughout college so I have athleticism in me. Just wondering if it’s even reasonably possible to train for this in that amount of time.

@olirain Well, a body not used to running suddenly running long distances could hurt hamstrings and muscles. If the runner is overweight, there is an increased risk of hurting their knees and feet.
This isnt even counting shin splints, back pain, psoas pain/injury, or a heart attack by going from sedentary to a marathon.
It's like not lifting weights, ever, and deciding to squat 400 pounds.

@johnnylester211 I mean, it's not like their going from zero to marathon, and the goal is to finish, which worlds easier than trying to push a decent pace. All of your worries are basically taken care of with proper shoes, non dumbass running technique, and not pushing it to hard.

Humans are literally designed to run long distances. I think your way over blowing risk of injury here.

I feel like we're gonna have to agree to disagree here, which is fine. Have a good weekend!

@ryan5o 3 miles took you 50 minutes and you ran? You need some serious work…

However you could start the couch 2 10k now

https://marathonhandbook.com/couch-to-10k-training-plan/

And then just send it on marathon day and accept that you will be wiped out for a day or two after!